Super Rugby Pacific Team List: Round 7 v Waratahs


The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies side has been named for this Saturday's Round 7 Super Rugby Pacific fixture against the NSW Waratahs, kicking off at 7:35PM AEDT at GIO Stadium, Canberra.

The Brumbies won a tight contest away in Brisbane to down the Queensland Reds 20-19 last Saturday evening at Suncorp Stadium.

Sitting 3rd on the Super Rugby Pacific ladder after the conclusion of Round 6, the Brumbies return home to face the NSW Waratahs for the Dan Vickerman Cup, in honour of the former ACT, NSW and Wallaby representative who passed away in 2017.

Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named a strong side for the interstate rivalry, with James Slipper in line to break the record for most Super Rugby caps by an Australian, surpassing former Brumbies' hooker Stephen Moore with his 178th appearance this weekend.


Billy Pollard will start at hooker, after Lachlan Lonergan succumbed to a serious leg injury in last weekend's match against the Reds. He will be joined by Sosefo Kautai who completes the front row.

Darcy Swain will combine with Nick Frost at lock, the latter returning to the starting line-up for the crucial clash with the Waratahs. Tom Hooper has also been named to start, completing the back-row with Rob Valetini and Charlie Cale.

Ryan Lonergan will lead the Brumbies on the paddock, featuring an unchanged backline with fly-half Noah Lolesio and centres Hudson Creighton and Tamati Tua. Fullback Tom Wright who has been in strong form will link up with Corey Toole and Ollie Sapsford on the flanks.


Connal McInerney and Jack Debreczeni are the big inclusions on the interchange bench. Both players named for the first time in 2024 after returning from long term injury. Fred Kaihea will also make his first appearance of the Super Rugby Pacific season, bolstering the front-row along with Rhys van Nek.

Cadeyrn Neville and Luke Reimer provide the remaining cover to the forward pack. Whilst Larkham opts for a 5-3 split, with Harrison Goddard and Declan Meredith rounding out the bench.

The Brumbies Super Rugby Women’s side will take on the Fijian Drua before the Super Rugby Pacific fixture, kicking off at 5:05PM AEDT.


With the Super Rugby Pacific clash taking place from 7:35PM AEDT.

2024 Super Rugby Pacific – Round 7

Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies v NSW Waratahs

Saturday 6 April, 7:35PM AEDT

GIO Stadium, Canberra

Starting XV


16. Connal McInerney (Canberra Royals)

17. Fred Kahea (Queanbeyan Whites)

18. Rhys Van Nek (Uni-Norths Owls)

19. Cadeyrn Neville (Uni-Norths Owls)

20. Luke Reimer (Western Districts)

21. Harrison Goddard (Queanbeyan Whites)

22. Jack Debreczeni (Uni-Norths Owls)

23. Declan Meredith (Western Districts)


news flash